Skip to main content

Takings Conference Details

Takings Conference 2016


The 19th Annual Conference on Litigating Takings Challenges to Land Use and Environmental Regulations

Friday, November 4, 2016
Tulane University School of Law
New Orleans, Louisiana

General Information


Conference Location:

Tulane University Law School
Weinmann Hall
6329 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70118




The following hotels located in the vicinity of the law school have made moderately priced rooms available to conference speakers and participants:

We urge speakers and conference participants to make their reservations as soon as conveniently possible.

Hampton Inn - Garden District
3626 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70115
Call 504-733-5646 and reference the 'Takings Conference.' Rate: $189 per night

The Hotel Modern
936 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
Call 504-962-0900 and reference the 'Tulane Law Conference.' Rate: $145 per night.




Speakers are subject to change.


Cancellations/Rain Checks:


Please email your cancellation notice to by 5:00 p.m. EST, October 31, 2016, for a refund (less $100 administrative fee). Rain checks for a future program will be granted for cancellations received after October 31 and prior to the start of the program.


CLE Credits


This program has been pre-approved for a minimum of 7.25 CLE credit hours in 60-minute states and 8.7 CLE credit hours in 50-minute states. Tulane CLE will assist attorneys with their credit reporting requirements. To obtain credits, attorneys must complete and return a Certificate of Attendance before leaving the conference.






For questions or registration help, please contact Rebecca Milaschewski at Vermont Law School:

Call: 802-831-1287
Fax: 802-831-1140


Conference Faculty



J. Peter Byrne
John Hampton Baumgartner, Jr. Professor of Real Property Law
Faculty Director, Environmental Law & Policy Institute
Georgetown University Law Center
Washington, DC


J. David Breemer
Principal Attorney
Pacific Legal Foundation
Sacramento, California

Christopher Dalbon
Program Manager
Tulane Institute on Water Resources Law & Policy
Tulane University School of Law
New Orleans, Louisiana

Josh Eagle
Solomon Blatt Professor of Law
University of South Carolina School of Law
Columbia, South Carolina

John D. Echeverria
Professor of Law
Vermont Law School
South Royalton, Vermont

Alyson Craig Flournoy
University of Florida Levin College of Law
Gainesville, Florida

Nicole Stelle Garnett
John P. Murphy Foundation Professor of Law
Notre Dame Law School
Notre Dame, Indiana

Oliver A. Houck
Professor of Law
Tulane University Law School
New Orleans, Louisiana

Alexandra Klass
Distinguished McKnight University Professor
University of Minnesota Law School
Minneapolis, Minnesota

William Lazarus
Assistant Chief, Appellate Section
Environment and Natural Resources Division
US Department of Justice
Washington, DC

John Leshy
Emeritus Harry D. Sunderland Distinguished Professor of Real Property Law
UC Hastings College of the Law
San Francisco, California

Matthew Littleton
Staff Attorney, Appellate Section
Environment and Natural Resources Division
U.S. Department of Justice
Washington , DC

John A. Lovett
De Van D. Daggett, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Law
Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
New Orleans, Louisiana

Robert Meltz
Special Counsel
Defenders of Wildlife
Washington, DC

Thomas Merrill
Charles Evan Hughes Professor of Law
Columbia Law School
New York, New York

Timothy Mulvaney
Professor of Law
Texas A & M University School of Law
Fort Worth, Texas

Andrew Schwartz
Shute, Mihaly & Weinberger
San Francisco, California

Ryan Seidemann
Assistant Attorney General
Louisiana Attorney General's Office
Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Christopher Serkin
Associate Dean for Research
Professor of Law
Vanderbilt Law School
Nashville, Tennessee

Randy Smith
Senior Managing Partner
Smith & Fawer
New Orleans, Louisiana

Sandra B. Zellmer
Robert B. Daugherty Professor of Law
Nebraska College of Law
Lincoln, Nebraska


5 Ways to Register



(MasterCard and Visa registrations only)


Fax: 802-831-1140
(MasterCard and Visa registrations only)

Phone: 802-831-1287
(MasterCard and Visa registrations only)


2016 Takings Conference
Environmental Law Center
Vermont Law School
PO Box 96
South Royalton, VT 05068
(Credit card (MasterCard or Visa) registrations, or check or purchase order payable to Vermont Law School)

On Site: (registrations by check only)