X Annual Global Conference on Environmental Taxation – Lisboa, 2009

'Water Management and Climate Change'

The Annual Global Conference on Environmental Taxation is part of an annual series of international conferences focussing on issues involved in designing and implementing environmentally related taxes. The conferences are not intended to advance any particular environmental agenda on an advocacy basis but rather to advance knowledge, understanding and debate. They provide a forum for scholars from different fields, such as Law, Economics, Political Science, International Relations, Natural Sciences, as well as representatives of national governments, the private sector and non-governmental organisations to exchange the latest research on the use of environmentally related taxes and other market-based instruments to advance environmental policy objectives.

Previous editions of the conference have been attended by over 300 participants annually, representing 70 countries in Africa, America, Asia and Europe, and coming from several different kinds of institutions, such as academia, government, business and social movements. The knowledge produced at the conference has been made public through an annual publication of a selection of presented papers – the *Critical Issues in Environmental Taxation Series*, published by the Oxford University Press since 2006.

The tenth edition of the Conference will take place in Lisboa (Portugal) and shall focus on 'Water Management and Climate Change'. This cross-cutting issue is in the agenda of every level of government and requires the input of all stakeholders. Therefore, the organisation represented by the Steering Committee and the National Organising Committee (please see list of members below) takes efforts to involve reference institutions in the support of this event.

Within this thematic framework, the conference will focus *inter alia* on the following areas: Water, Energy, International Transports, Policies & Instruments' Coordination, International Environmental Justice, Competitiveness Issues, Capacity Building Issues and Governance Issues. Each issue will be launched with a plenary session for all conference participants, followed by a number of panel sessions

to examine specific issues in more depth. The conference also includes a doctoral track, where young researchers can present their work projects and get the feedback of established academics in the field.

Parallel to these sessions there will be some specific workshops and streams, namely on the Law and Economics of Environmental Policy, a growing field of legal research where the formal and procedural aspects of environmental policy are subject to a cost-benefit analysis that informs policymakers and the public in general with respect to the actual consequences of environmental law. The Regulator Perspective will also be addressed through specific workshops.

Further information on these sub-topics and other issues concerning the conference theme shall be provided in due time, following the suggestions of the Advisory Board (please see list of members below).

Conference bodies

Steering Committee

Prof. Hope Ashiabor, Macquarie University Law Department

Prof. Janet Milne, Vermont Law School

Prof. Kurt Deketelaere, Law Faculty of the University of Leuven

Prof. Lawrence A. Kreiser, Cleveland State University Department of Accounting

Advisory Board

Mr. Aldo Ravazzi, Ministry of the Environment, Italy

Mr. Alexander Wiedow, European Commission, Belgium

Mr. Andre Jol, European Environmental Agency, Denmark

Mr. Christopher Heady, OECD, France

Mr. David Gee, European Environmental Agency, Denmark

Dr. Gunnar Rabe, Taxation Court, Sweden

Dr. Harsha Vardhana Singh, World Trade Organisation, Switzerland

Prof. Jon Strand, International Monetary Fund, USA

Mr. Kai Schlegelmilch, Ministry of the Environment, Germany

Mr. Manfred Rosenstock, European Commission, Belgium

Prof. Mikael Skou Andersen, NERI – Ministry of the Environment, Denmark

Mr. Nils-Axel Braathen, OECD, France

Prof. Peter Berck, University of California (Berkeley), USA

Prof. Pier Carlo Padoan, OECD, France

Mr. Robin Miège, European Commission, Belgium

Prof. Runar Brännlund, University of Umeå, Sweden

Ms. Susanne Akerfeldt, Ministry of Finances, Sweden

Conference Delegates

Mr. Alamgir Khan Gandapur, The World Conservation Union (IUCN), Pakistan

Prof. Amitabh Kundu, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Prof. Beng Kriström, University of Umeå, Sweden

Prof. David Duff, University of Toronto, Canada

Prof. José Marcos Domingos, University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Dr. Moses M. Kiara, The Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis, Kenya

Prof. Nancy Olewiler, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Prof. Pedro Herrera Molina, University Complutence de Madrid, Spain

Mr. Ricardo Ulate Chacón, Ministry of the Environment, Costa Rica