Skip Navigation

Website Sections

Environmental Law Center

Environmental Law Center Visitors

The Environmental Law Center regularly hosts visiting scholars and other guests with expertise in environmental law and policy. They join the VLS community for short periods of time to conduct research, present their work to the VLS community, interact with students, and serve as networking resources.

Research Fellow

June 9 – July 21, 2013
Santiago Alvarez Carreño, Lecturer of Administrative Law, University of Murcia, Spain

Professor Alvarez specializes in legal matters related to protection of water and environment. He publishes and takes regular part in courses, seminars, and conferences in Spain and abroad (México, Argentina, Germany). In the summer of 2010, he served as visiting scholar at the Centre for Water Law, Policy and Science at the University of Dundee, United Kingdoms. Professor Álvarez is a member of the Spanish Association of Environmental Law (ADAME), the Spanish Association of Administrative Law (AEPDA), and the Centre for Environmental Law Studies (CEDAT) at the University Rovira i Virgili (Tarragona).

In 1998, Professor Alvarez received his PhD in Law with European accreditation by the University of Murcia (Spain), and has trained and worked in Madrid, Fribourg (Switzerland), Bologna (Italy), and Osnabrück (Germany). Since 2001, he has served as Lecturer of Administrative Law at the University of Murcia. Professor Alvarez has published two books, The Right to Petition (1999) and The Law of Domestic Wastewater Treatment (2003).

Professor Alvarez is visiting Vermont Law School as a research fellow to explore the adaption of water rights to environmental challenges.

2013 Distinguished Summer Scholars

June 16 – June 29, 2013
Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems Scholar
Robin Kundis Craig, William H. Leary Professor of Law, University of Utah, S.J. Quinney College of Law

July 7 – July 20, 2013
Energy Law Scholar
Alexandra B. Klass, Julius E. Davis Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School

July 14 – July 27, 2013
Environmental Law Scholar
Victor B. Flatt, Thomas F. and Elizabeth Taft Distinguished Professor in Environmental Law & Director, Center for Law, Environment, Adaption, and Resources, University of North Carolina School of Law

International Environmental Law Scholar
Antonio A. “Tony” Oposa Jr., Counselor-at-Environmental-Law from the Philippines; President of The Law of Nature Foundation

Media Fellows

June 16 – June 29, 2013
Lisa Palmer, freelance environmental writer

July 7 – July 20, 2013
Jeremy Jacobs, Greenwire reporter

July 22 – August 2, 2013
Tim Wheeler, Baltimore Sun journalist